Menu

EM Climate in Utah

Home General/Welcome EM Climate in Utah

Participant

I am currently a medical student and am very interested in EM. I am trying to get a good gauge on practice conditions in Utah prior to selecting locations for my away rotation(s) (that’s where I did my undergrad and that’s where my wife’s family is so. . . you get it). The ACEP salary survey gives good data for a lot of states, but says nothing is available for Utah. I am curious why there is no available data. Is it something with Intermountain, or is the job market so saturated there for EM docs that there are never any new job postings? I am just curious about what “full-time” is there in Utah, as well as expected compensation, and job availability. Thanks in advance!

#198457 Reply
    Participant
    #198490 Reply
    Vagabond MD Vagabond MD 
    Participant

Gosh, I wish I knew of a Utah-based emergency medicine physician who could instruct us on the EM job market. 😉

"Wealth is the slave of the wise man and the master of the fool.” -Seneca the Younger

#198506 Reply
    Participant

@vagabond: I have to think this was the idea of the OP all along…

#198510 Reply
    Liked by Vagabond MD
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

Utah is largely considered a desirable place so is more difficult finding a job. The good news is…you’re a long ways away from needing to worry about it.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#198537 Reply
    Dreamgiver Dreamgiver 
    Participant

Booming economy plus young relatively healthy population means good payor mix. Add the geographical desirability and you can guess why jobs don’t get posted often. Good groups don’t need to advertise their vacancies.

#198565 Reply
    Liked by Tim
    Participant

Utah has a unique physician market