Menu

Does it make sense for parents to pull out of their retirement to help pay loans?

Home Student Loan Management Does it make sense for parents to pull out of their retirement to help pay loans?

Participant

Hi everyone,

My parents just offered to help pay for my loans by taking money out of their retirement accounts. One year out, I graduated with about 370k in student loans with my average interest around 6.5%. Income is around 200k and I am currently still on paye right now. My question is does it make sense to accept money from my parents, who are already retired and just enjoying life, to help pay for some of my loans if they pull out money from their retirement accounts (which they will get taxed on)? Does riding out the paye make more sense? Sorry for the confusion but I do plan to pay my parents back.

Thanks

#237362 Reply
    Participant

Well I guess that depends on how much money they have and if they need it but not sure why you can’t pay off your own loans…

#237501 Reply
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

It definitely makes sense for you.  Probably not for them.

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

Participant

Hi everyone,

My parents just offered to help pay for my loans by taking money out of their retirement accounts. One year out, I graduated with about 370k in student loans with my average interest around 6.5%. Income is around 200k and I am currently still on paye right now. My question is does it make sense to accept money from my parents to help pay for loans if they pull out money from their retirement accounts (which they will get taxed on)? Does riding out the paye make more sense?

Thanks

Click to expand…

you are not specifying where this “retirement” money is.

if taxable, they can give you 15k/person/year and move on. ive never asked our parents for this.

and i would never ask my parents to take larger RMDs/pull from Roth accounts to pay off my loans.