Menu

Disability Insurance confusion – hospital GSI vs individual policy(s)

Home Insurance Disability Insurance confusion – hospital GSI vs individual policy(s)

Participant

I’m new to WCI and the forums, but disability insurance has been stressing me out and I thought maybe I could find some guidance here. I’ve been poring through the forums and using the search function, but I still can’t make a decision.

I have 3 years left in residency, and my hospital offers a true own occupation GSI policy from Ohio National with extremely favorable rates for benefits of 1.5k, 2.5k, 4k, and 5k, with true own occupation definition, residual benefits, and optional COLA and catastrophic riders. I’m told there is a future increase option at the exit interview, on residency graduation, that can be added and benefits up to $15k/month are possible with income verification.

Is it worth getting very favorable GSI policy with lesser rated company like Ohio National, or should I pay a modestly bigger premium for one of the bigger DI players?

As a separate question, what about combining two DI policies for more future coverage options and getting ahead of medical underwriting now? One agent is recommending a $1,500 benefit policy with Principal and a $6,000 benefit policy with Mass Mutual at favorable rates, and states that this sort of thing is common among residents and future high earners.

#238175 Reply
    Liked by Tim
    Scott at MD Financial Services Scott at MD Financial Services 
    Participant
    Status: Website Sponsor, Insurance Agent, Small Business Owner

I’m new to WCI and the forums, but disability insurance has been stressing me out and I thought maybe I could find some guidance here. I’ve been poring through the forums and using the search function, but I still can’t make a decision.