Menu

Differing pay rates

Home General/Welcome Differing pay rates

Participant

Hey all
    I am an EM physician in n urban hcol area. Independent contractor with local sdg. I’ve been there full time for about 1.5 years now. I recently found out another colleague of mine is getting paid more and she’s only been there for two months and she’s actually leaving. I don’t think she was hired as a locums. Bc she also put in her notice to leave and my director was kind of pissed. The pay Rate difference is $10/hr. We are both em board certified. How would you or would you even approach the director regarding this? She’s not a nocturnist albeit more of her shifts are nights compared to me of which she tells me she didn’t agree to doing all nights. In addition I’ve talked with other longer seasoned colleagues of mine who state the pay hasn’t raised in nearly 3 yrs for them. How do I bring that up? I don’t want to rock the boat and I don’t want to lose my job due to family reasons tying me to the area. I would just up and leave but the area I’m in is super saturated and I know no other places hiring.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

#196513 Reply
    Participant

You can ask. Obviously you will accept a $0 change since you can’t move.
    So when they say no, say ok thanks.

#196581 Reply
    Liked by Tim
    Participant
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Click to expand…

Ask! Perhaps offering to help fill the gap your boss now has would help too.

#196596 Reply
    q-school q-school 
    Participant

you don’t get what you deserve, you get what you negotiate.

there are other factors that come into play than being a good person, working hard, not causing trouble, and of course productivity, and risk management.