Menu

Debt Management Advice

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Debt Management Advice

Participant

Hi all.  I am new to WCI and new to getting my financial head out of the sand.  I am a pediatrician working 40% hospitalist, 60% PCP.  I work for a 501(c)3 and plan to go for the forgiveness program (but not holding my breath). I did 19 months of PICU fellowship and left after having a couple kids.  After leaving fellowship, I carried along some consumer debt, and in my first 4 years of practice, we have made that worse.

The problem is that I see our debt as a crisis, and my wife does not.  We have IRS debt, credit cards, a personal loan, and a 403b loan.  We both have car payments.  I feel like my hair is on fire, and my wife is unwilling to even consider reducing our lifestyle to pay it off.  Does anyone have any advice on how to manage different financial priorities in a marriage?  One big hurdle I feel is that since I earn dramatically more than she does, she feels like “budget” means “control” and resents any attempts to reign in our spending.  It has become so toxic that she won’t even talk to me about finances.  Any ideas would be wonderful.

#220312 Reply
    Liked by adventure
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner
    I feel like my hair is on fire

Click to expand…

Welcome to the forum and thank you immensely for my first belly laugh of the day in the midst of much intense forum discussion (and tax return reviews).

Johanna Fox Turner, CPA, CFP, Fox Wealth Mgmt & Fox CPAs ~
    http://www.fox-cpas.com/for-doctors-only ~ [email protected]

#220330 Reply

Honestly this is marriage counseling time.
    Assuming all the facts are true as they are presented and one partner is unable/unwilling/unmoving this is setting a course towards eventual divorce.

get the money out of the checking account first cut off the credit cards cut off any potential way to spend extra money.