Menu

Currently paralyzed by Backdoor Roth vs Roth IRA & Solo 401Ks, help

Home Retirement Accounts Currently paralyzed by Backdoor Roth vs Roth IRA & Solo 401Ks, help

Participant

I’m a graduating resident, so I’ll have half a year of resident salary (~$30K) and half a year of attending salary (???). I’m legitimately not sure if I’ll meet that single filer $139K threshold to be ineligible for Roth IRA.

1. Is it better to just do the Roth IRA or backdoor Roth in this case?

2. If I do cross the $139K mark, then what happens in each case?

I’m also moonlighting and opened a solo 401K (Roth and traditional options) in late Dec 2018 but have yet to contribute for the 2018 tax year. I have about $15K 1099 income after deductions. If I calculated it correctly, I think I can contribute all $15K. I’m trying to work for the first time with a tax accountant but she’s not the greatest in answering questions (yea, trying to find another one).

3. Is it better go to Roth 401K? I work in CA if that matters

4. How do tax forms work?

TIA! I’ve just been paralyzed trying to think through all this before I actually do it

#186228 Reply
    Participant

for year 2019, you will have probably around 30k in resident salary plus you moonlighting plus your attending salary.  You don’t mention your field or what you expect to earn once you sign as an attending.  But if you make 200k per year, that would be like 83k.  It looks like you are going to be close.  So just hold onto the money and make the contribution once you know.  There is a decent chance you are going to be moving, so having some cash on hand will be worthwhile.

Do you have any other retirement accounts?  If you do, it would likely be your best year to perform a roth conversion, but you need to run the numbers.  If you are going to do the conversion, you will likely be doing the Roth through the backdoor.

Question 4 is a doozy.  Good luck with that

#186268 Reply
    Participant

Click to expand…