Menu

Creating Qualified joint venture

Home Tax Reduction Creating Qualified joint venture

Participant

So I’m a full-time physician with a W-2 job and a telemedicine side gig. Between my w2 401k and solok I am able to max out my 56k contribution for 2019. My spouse is not currently working and we are looking to have a qualified joint venture 401k, increase retirement savings so as to lower taxable income and get qbi deduction.
    The main issue is defining spouse’s job description/duties to qualify as a joint venture-spouse is a physician but not currently practicing.Does anyone have any experience with this sorta situation ? What duties can be delegated legally to meet QJV requirements.Any help will be appreciated

#224881 Reply
    Participant

First, there is a separate employee + employer contribution annual limit (2019 = $56K) for each unaffiliated employer. You have a separate $56K limit for your W-2 401k and your one-participant 401k. There is only one employee elective contribution limit (2019 = $19K) for all 401k, 403b, SEP SIMPLE IRA plans.

To qualify for a qualified joint venture your wife must meet the material participation requirements for Line G, page C-4, Instructions for Schedule C. She just needs 500 hours/year of of specific tasks where she performs substantially all of those specific tasks.

#224928 Reply
    Liked by Peds
    Participant

“spouse is a physician but not currently practicing”

I can think of a more straightforward way to increase your retirement savings.

#224949 Reply
    Liked by Panscan, G
    Participant

I agree with spritrider about the 401k limits.

I also agree that your spouse must materially participate.  Besides the 500 hour test, your spouse could meet a lesser test of more than 100 hours AND more than your total hours in the activity.