Menu

Considering signing out AMA after wife delivers – am I crazy??

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Considering signing out AMA after wife delivers – am I crazy??

Participant

Curious what the WCI community thinks about this – or even better if anyone has done something similar in the past., advice from OB’s or Pediatricians would be especially appreciated:

My wife is 37 weeks pregnant (G3P2).  We have a high deductible insurance plan to take advantage of the Stealth IRA.  Our first two deliveries went without complication and resulted in beautiful, healthy babies.  Both deliveries were met with very high medical bills – essentially we maxed out our “high deductible” twice with each birth – once for Mom and once for Baby.  In both situations absolutely nothing was done for either mom or baby that necessitated an inpatient admission.  The bills were extremely expensive as our deductible is 3,500 for mom and child so we are talking 7,000 dollars.

I am an ER doctor and my father is a family doc with pretty extensive OB and pediatric experience.  I am not quite comfortable with the risks of doing a home delivery but I am considering signing out AMA from the hospital after our childbirth if everything goes smoothly during delivery and our baby is looking and acting normally.  I would obviously watch the baby very carefully and return to a hospital if there were any sign of distress, any failure to pass meconium, or difficulty feeding.  I would also have a prompt outpatient appointment with our pediatrician and my wife’s midwife.