Menu

Cameras

Home The Lounge Cameras

Participant

Curious if people have other cameras they use on their vacations or general photography vs phones?

#226488 Reply
    Neuro Neuro 
    Participant

I am a serious amateur photographer who used to lug heavy DSLR’s, multiple lenses, filters and tripod on our vacation and photography trips. Nowadays with small kids, I tends to use iphones and Sony RX series a lot more. You can also go the mirrorless route. Most cameras generate fanstastic images for vacations photos. You need to understand the basic principles of exposure and lighting, and you will get great photos even on Iphone. Unless you are ready to seriously process photos using Lightroom and Phostoshop ( or other software), it becomes an overkill.

#226490 Reply
    Participant

Yes, I do some photography as a hobby when we travel.  I’m into landscape photos mostly. For everyday stuff, I use my phone camera more than anything.  The best camera is the one you have on you at all times;)  That being said, when we are traveling, I usually have my good camera on me at all times.  I currently use a Fujifilm XT2 Mirrorless set up.  The photo below was taken on my old Nikon D750 though.  When we went to Germany last summer, I had my good camera with me with a small fixed lens.  When backpacking I always have my camera, wide angle zoom, a couple of filters, and a tripod.  If I were to go on some sort of long backpacking trek though, I might not punish myself with the extra weight and instead opt for just a camera phone.

For most people these days, everyday photos on a good phone camera will be indistinguishable from those on a DSLR.  The new iPhone cameras are quite incredible actually.  They can even mimic bokeh in such a way that it looks like a portrait was taken with a real portrait lens.

Swift Current Lake Sunrise

PhysicianOnFIRE PhysicianOnFIRE 

I used to have a Nikon DSLR setup, but it was no fun to haul around on long, uphill hikes.