Menu

Anyone regret tilting their portfolio in a particular way?

Home General Investing Anyone regret tilting their portfolio in a particular way?

Participant

I’m relatively new to investing having only been at it for the last 5 years (relatively new attending). I’ve essentially read most everything on WCI and several of his partners sites (as well as Bogleheads and some other forums). My entire portfolio is all low cost vanguard index funds (average ER of my portfolio is 0.07) and have it essentially modeled after the Boglehead’s 3 fund portfolio. However, in addition to the typical 3 fund portfolio, I’ve also added slight tilts that made sense to me after doing my research/homework approximately 5 years ago.

10% to Vanguard REIT via VGSLX: trying to diversify and get some real estate exposure

10% to small cap value via VSIAX: trying to take advantage of Fama/French research and improved returns in the LONG term

It happens that my tilting has worked against me since starting ~5 years ago which I’m certainly fine with as the goal with all of these investments is for the long term (30+ years). I haven’t sold a thing and continue to invest according to my allocation whenever I have new money. I’m pretty methodical when it comes to that.

Essentially, I’m just interested in opinions of people who have been doing it a lot longer than me what their thoughts have been on tilting their portfolios. On one hand you have the Paul Merriman’s of the world saying SCV and factor tilting will drive huge returns in the LONG term (and I have a long time horizon). On the other hand you have Allan Roth (latest podcast with WCI) saying it’s overrated now that everybody is doing factor investing, it’s not a “secret” anymore and that will likely erode premiums. And then you have WCI/PoF stating some REASONABLE tilting is likely a good thing but not more than you believe in it…hence why I only have max of 10% in each of the tilts listed above.