Menu

Advice on developing work situation

Home Practice Management Advice on developing work situation

Participant

Background: I am a dual trained oral surgeon practicing in a small/midsize midwest town since graduating residency in summer 2018. I am employed by a hospital and am in clinic 3.5 out of 5 days and in the OR 1 day with a half day admin time each week. Call is 1 week in 5 and very very manageable. The base compensation and the job are very satisfying. The compensation would likely look better long term in a private practice situation but the scope of practice would not be. Currently my salary has an additional collections incentive. Base pay or 50% of my collections… whichever is higher. Bonus is determined at the end of each fiscal year. By nature of working for the hospital, there is little transparency as to what % is collected. I do see a larger % of medicaid/state medical assistance patients than would be expected in private practice but not so much that I would expect to not meet that collections threshold.

Additionally, I signed the contract 1/4 the way through my chief resident year and earned a stipend while finishing residency, a sign on bonus as well as all moving expenses paid. A large portion of this would have to be paid back (~40k should I leave the job inside of 3 years).