Menu

Advice needed regarding home purchase vs renting

Home Real Estate Investing Advice needed regarding home purchase vs renting

•  doc1978 
    Participant
    WCICon18

I have been working as a part-time physician at a small town in NY state as my wife is finishing her fellowship in another area. She will be joining the same practice in July 2019. We have 2 kids with one started middle school. It is tough to find good rentals or new houses to buy. Also, the houses are expensive due to a lot of tourism in the summer months. The typical rent for a 3-4 bedroom home is $2000-2500 per month. Newer similar sized home in the town costs app $400-500K to buy.

I have been working there for almost 2 years and I like the job. But since it is a small town, I am not sure about my long term plans. I am almost sure to stay here for about 3-4 years and then see how my family likes it. I like to have my own home due to bad experience with the prior landlord. But I am not sure if it makes sense financially. I am looking for advice if I should buy or rent. I also want to get opinions about buying it and then renting after 3-4 years, in case I want to move out. I don’t want to be a landlord, but most of the tenants are likely to be new physicians who come to work in that year for a few years at the start of the career. We are also thinking of FIRE in 4-5 years and then see if we get a part-time job at the same place a few months a year. In that case, we can use the house during those months.

I’ll really appreciate any help.

#180179 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant