Menu

Advice about 401a account.

Home Retirement Accounts Advice about 401a account.

Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m currently in my last year of training and I’m a little confused with what I should do about my 401a account.

401a: ~$35k. If I remove this money I’ll only get to keep 75% of my employer contributions so I’ll end up with about ~$31k

Roth IRA: ~$22k

No debt, currently plan on working as an independent contractor and eventually starting my own practice, but things can change.

I was reading a few other threads with other residents/fellows who had 403b accounts that were considering converting them to their Roth IRAs. I was wondering what you guys would recommend for me? I’ve also considered cashing out the $31k, but tried to calculate the taxes/penalties and it seems like I’d only be left with 15-17k.

Thanks

#239456 Reply
    I was reading a few other threads with other residents/fellows who had 403b accounts that were considering converting them to their Roth IRAs. I was wondering what you guys would recommend for me?

Click to expand…

whats your marginal tax rate? cause likely the answer is the same as those other people.

I’ve also considered cashing out the $31k, but tried to calculate the taxes/penalties and it seems like I’d only be left with 15-17k.

Click to expand…

that is the wrong answer.

#239457 Reply

So if you move the money you lose $4k in employer contributions. That’s less than ideal. I would assume this is the case whether you rollover to a qualified plan elsewhere, or Roth convert

So how can you not lose that $4k? If you leave funds in the 401a what happens? Is this an option?

i definitely would not cash out for 50 cents on the dollar.

The Finance Buff's solo 401k contribution spreadsheet: https://goo.gl/6cZKVA

#239462 Reply

im assuming they are not vested, and if they are leaving the program they will never vest that last part. so essentially its gone no matter what.

#239463 Reply

agreed, should be confirmed by OP