Menu

600K Inheritance: Hawaii vacation condo vs rental property

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting 600K Inheritance: Hawaii vacation condo vs rental property

Participant

This is my first time creating a new thread, but I have occasionally posted replies in the past. I’m embarrassed to post this, since it is only an issue for the near 1%ers of the world. However, I manage all our finances and don’t have a financial planner to turn to.

I am writing to ask this wise group what you would do in my situation: We’re a fortunate 2-physician couple in our mid-50’s. Our combined gross salaries are around 550K/year and we’re planning to cut back to part-time in 5 years. I am told I will be receiving an inheritance in the 600K range in several years, and am wondering what I would do with such a generous gift. I know some members of this forum are avid passive income real estate aficionados, and I have thought of doing the same. However, I am not that interested in managing 1-2 rental units (renters) in retirement. We’re contemplating buying a Hawaii vacation condo with the gift. We love Hawaii, go back over and over again, and see ourselves spending several months per year there in semi-retirement and full retirement.

Here are the numbers: Current net worth around 3.2M

–  2.4-2.5M all tax-deferred in various 403b, 457, and 401a accounts. Depending on returns, this may grow to 4.5M-5.5M by the time I fully retire at 65. No Roth accounts yet, but will contribute to 403b Roth when I cut back to 1/2 time.

–  630K home equity (900K value with 270K left on mortgage). Mortgage will be paid off in 5-7 years.

–  120K left in 529s. Two college tuitions already paid for, with 1 more about to enter college.

No student, personal, or auto loans. Assets allocations follow William Bernstein’s “Sheltered Sam” allocations. See attachment.