Menu

401k plan for small business

Home Retirement Accounts 401k plan for small business

•  VKJ 
    Participant

Hi,

We are small business with 20 employees and currently have our 401k with nationwide and fees about 1.5, good variety of fund’s. Looking to switch to a employee fiduciary or guideline for their low costs. Anybody have experience with them and how easy to transition. I don’t want to rock the boat and then mess up with the new provider.
    Thank you.

#179338 Reply
     jacoavlu 

I’ve no direct experience with either. EF generally gets good reviews. Guideline is inexpensive but last I knew only offered comp-to-comp and flat dollar amount profit sharing which means the plan is less flexible if the goal is to maximize benefit to the owners while reducing employer contribution costs.

If a plan is large enough (in the millions) Vanguard / Ascensus is hard to beat given that they offer a bundled plan with no asset based fees.

Kon Litovsky has written several articles on the blog that you may find helpful. There’s also a wiki page on Bogleheads that would be good to review.

The Finance Buff's solo 401k contribution spreadsheet: https://goo.gl/6cZKVA

#179351 Reply
     nwdpath 
    Participant

I have 2 businesses with EF and they are fantastic.  Low costs, great customer service.  We’ve compared to other plans but all have been more expensive.

#179356 Reply
     VKJ 
    Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

Thank you @jacoavlu and @nwdpath.  If Guideline did not let us do Profit sharing, that would be a deal breaker. I am just reading Kon Litovsky’s article and his service looks a lot reasonable than what we already have.  @nwdpath..Heard from a few people that EF is a good administrator but does not prove guidance with regards to planning for the employees and advice with maxing your plan.

#179411 Reply
    DMFA DMFA