Menu

1099 to Solo 401k Sequence

Home Retirement Accounts 1099 to Solo 401k Sequence

Participant

I’m an employed primary care physician who also moonlights and receives independent contractor (1099) income.  I have already applied for an received an EIN, and have submitted the application paperwork to Fidelity to open a solo 401k.  My goal is to contribute the “employer” maximum allowed to this solo 401k but have a few questions about this.

1.  I currently receive my moonlighting income via direct deposit, but it is paid to me personally (with my SSN attached a personal checking account) not my business (wit the EIN attached to the account).  In order for things to be neat and tidy from a money trail standpoint, does my 1099 income need to be paid to my business (not me) in order for the transfer to the solo 401k to go smoothly?

2.  I already max out the employee contribution for my employed job (w-2 income), so the contributions I’ll make to the solo 401k will be as an employer.  In 2018, my 1099-misc income totaled $37,920, so I know I won’t bump into the absolute dollar contribution limits, but I’m confused if I’m allowed to contribute 20 or 25% of my 1099 income as an employer.  Seem to see both numbers in various forums, but I think as a sole-proprietorship, the answer is 20%, just wanted to confirm.

#189483 Reply
    Participant

As a sole proprietor, there is no difference taxwise between you personally and the business. Your payments can continue to go by direct deposit to a personal account.

It is a good idea for expenses to be paid from a dedicated bank account and a dedicated credit card account. While I prefer to, there is no requirement for either to be business accounts.

The reason you have seen both 20% and 25% is because employer contributions are limited to 25% of compensation. However, because self-employed employer contributions reduce compsenation. It is calculated as 20% of net self-employment earnings (business profit – 1/2 SE tax).