Menu

1098 -T question

Home Tax Reduction 1098 -T question

•  jpa 
    Participant

I graduated from med school in May 2018 (so would have been in school from January 1st–May 5th 2018). My medical school is claiming the last payment was submitted in December 2017, therefore there is no qualifying tuition payment for a 2018 1098-T.   I have a friend who claims that I should still be able to count the prorated amount that would have been for those 4 months in 2018, but I don’t know if this is true and if true, where to find the appropriate documentation.

Any thoughts?  My wife and I both work, so this could save us a ton of money if true. Thanks!

#189763 Reply
     Larry Ragman 
    Participant

The IRS specifically changed the rules on the 1098T last year. Previously the form reported billing, so you could claim you paid across the academic year. For 2018 and on, it reports what was actually paid in that year towards qualified tuition and fees. Look at the form itself. I think it is block 7, but regardless, it will tell you if you actually paid any money in 2018. If not, then no credit.

#189768 Reply
     docnews 
    Participant

IRS accounting screwed me when they changed this in 2013 (when the school claims we paid tuition in dec for the spring). Still attempted to claim and IRS came a calling. Minor fee (like a cheap loan for quite some time) but still feel it was a scam to save the government money.

#189775 Reply
     Larry Ragman 
    Participant

Yes, this is an easy auto check for the IRS. Your claim is matched directly to the 1098T. If it says none, don’t claim.

#189776 Reply
    Liked by docnews
     Sigrid 
    Participant