Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any advice for starting a financial literacy interest group at my medical school?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any advice for starting a financial literacy interest group at my medical school?

So I'm a 4th year medical student who is very interested in financial literacy and its importance for medical students. I discovered this site a little over a year ago and have read and learned so much from this site/podcast and others (ChooseFI, PoF, PassiveIncomeMD, etc...) that I want to help other students learn more about financial independence before they get roped into making bad financial decisions as a resident or attending down the road. Thankfully my advisor at my school is redesigning our financial literacy curriculum at our school and is going to help me start this interest group so I'm not alone in this endeavor. I guess my main question is I would love any feedback from y'all about some topics or ideas that you wished you had been exposed to in medical school. Are there any particular topics you think I should focus on for the first meeting to get as much interest as possible? Anything I should avoid so as not to overwhelm people too early?

Thanks so much for any feedback at all, this site and forum have been a valuable resource for me and my future career.

I have always been innterested in financial matters and investing, but I have no doubt that I would not have found time for a finance interest group.

My suggestion would be to have a yearly or twice-yearly lecture series about the basics.

Comment

Wow it is great that you even have a curriculum for finances.
      As a med student the most important thing is to live on a tight budget. Understanding what it means to live on borrowed money.
      Understanding the repay options would be good to know as well.