X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2020 W-4 advice

Hi, surprised this hasn't been discussed yet!

For this year's 2020 W4, I want to make sure I get as close to zero during tax day as possible. I am also a novice at taxes, so sorry for simple questions!

I am married, both are physicians. No children yet.

Me: Income, about 300K base, but get 90-100K annually for on-call money, so around 400K annually. I get the full amount (56K) from employer into 401k, I don't contribute anything, so I can't deduct any of this.

Her: Income about 350K, she puts in 38K total into both 403b and 457, and 6K into HSA.

I am selecting in Step 2, option C because we are both working spouses: "If there are only two jobs total, you may check this box. Do the same on Form W-4 for the other job. This option is accurate for jobs with similar pay; otherwise, more tax than necessary may be withheld"

I suppose this is similar to the prior w-4, "married but withhold at higher single rate," correct?

I tried IRS tax calculator to get a more accurate result but am having a tough time with it. I suppose the reason being is our paychecks vary a lot from month to month. Depending on how much on-call I take, and depending on her bonuses, our paycheck fluctuates on the order of 3-6K federal income tax withheld. Because of this, I can't get a good sense of how much tax is being withheld. This calculator seems better for people with same amount of tax withheld each paycheck, people with more steady incomes.

Any suggestions on the IRS tax calculator? Should I just stick with option C?

Lastly to clarify, both of us (my spouse and I) should mark option C on both of our separate w4's correct?

Thank you all

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/fo...081#post177081

calculator linked there where you can at least see the results that will come out based on how you complete the W4 which in the end is what is most important

Comment