Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Engaged Medical Student/Fiance Employed Full Time+1099; Should we "get married" asap?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engaged Medical Student/Fiance Employed Full Time+1099; Should we "get married" asap?

Please allow me to begin this thread by stating that I am planning to bring my financials to a licensed CPA in the next couple weeks, but I would like to get my ducks in a row first.

Here's the situation:
    My spouse and I got engaged in September (yay!) but we're not planning to get married for a couple of years. I'm a second-year medical student and she's employed full time and does additional side work on a contractual basis. Long story short, she made about $55,000 in base pay and $25,000 as a contractor (1099). She paid around $9,000 total in taxes (state + federal withholdings) on her base salary, but she hasn't had any taxes withheld on the contract work. She has also paid about $10k in her student loan debt (all interest still at this point - she hasn't broken into the principle yet).

I'm unemployed and have no taxable income for 2019. I paid about $56k in tuition this year (via federal loans).

Since she has a substantial amount of untaxed income, we're considering a quick courthouse marriage before the end of the year to be able to file jointly. We fully intend to have a ceremony and party and everything later (after 3rd year ends).

Here's my question: if we are officially married before the end of the year, does my $56k tuition payment count as a deduction if we file jointly? If yes, would that make our combined taxable income $24,000?
    Last edited by bness; 12-11-2019, 09:57 AM.