X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Itemized deduction question

I am considering opening a DAF before the end of the year and donating about 24k in appreciate shares (cost basis ~12k). This is my first year as a homeowner and would be my first year itemizing rather than taking the standard deduction. My wife and I are W2 employees, and will file jointly. Would appreciate any help/confirmation before I pull the trigger on transferring the shares.

We should meet the 10k limit on SALT deductions (5% state income tax on AGI ~450k, local property tax ~2k), 2.5k student loan interest, 4k mortgage interest for at least a total of 16k.

16k from the above + 24k in charitable donations = 40k which would be greater than the 24k standard deduction. Am I missing anything? I filed our taxes with turbotax last year but our AGI has dramatically changed as this is my first full year in practice so I just want to be sure before going ahead with the DAF.

Thanks in advance!

You won't get 2.5k student loan interest deduction. You make too much.

Otherwise you're good.

Comment

I laughed at student loan.
      But otherwise yup.

Comment

Your tax benefit is really only the amount of the deduction which is in excess of a $24k gross deduction amount. So, of your $24k donation only about $14k provides you any tax benefit.

think of the $24k standard deduction as a bucket that you have to fill, and only the spillover amount provides any tax benefit. It takes $10k of your donation just to fill the bucket.

of course you’re wiping out $12k of unrealized taxable capital gains as well. But if you were going to donate more in the future, you might be better served to wait and lump sum donate in a later year

Comment

The only thing you’re really missing is a CPA. Don’t diy with turbotax- you don’t know what you don’t know.
          Hal

Comment

I disagree. Take the time to figure it out. Taxes are not that complicated.

Comment