X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to approach loans

Hi, I'm currently a fourth year medical student who will be starting residency soon. I was hoping for some advice about how I should go about paying off my loans.

I am coming out of school with 90,000 of loans, 60,000 of which is no interest and 30,000 of which contains a one year grace period and then begins at a 5% interest rate.
    I'm starting residency in a low-medium cost city and I'll be making about 58k per year. Should I enroll into any of those loan programs or should I just pay off the 5% interest loan asap? Thanks!

I would pay it off as quick as you can but more information is required. What is your residency in? What are you career goals...private practice vs. academics, etc.?

Comment

yeah more information is needed. is the 60k no interest loan from family? or is it a current federal loan with no interest? is the 30k a private loan accumulating interest now and payments deferred or no interest now and 5% starts in a year?

in any case with relatively low loan amounts it would make more sense to just pay it off rather than worrying about pslf. build your emergency fund, fully fund your roth IRA and invest that into index funds. take advantage of any employer match you may have for 401k/403b you might get.

other than that, pay off the 5% interest loan when you can. take as long as possible to pay off the no interest loan. if you still have money in your budget left over, consider taking advantage of more tax deferred space if you want to.

Comment

Originally posted by Nysoz View Post
        yeah more information is needed. is the 60k no interest loan from family? or is it a current federal loan with no interest? is the 30k a private loan accumulating interest now and payments deferred or no interest now and 5% starts in a year?