X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinancing while federal student loan interest accrual has been paused

Hello, I was thinking about refinancing my federal loans now while rates were likely to be low, but if federal loan interest accrual is paused, should I wait until later? I'm a 3rd year resident about to graduate in 06/2020. I will not qualify for PSLF after graduation.

no rush. you have time.

Comment

I'm monitoring the situation now. My variable rate for Laurel Road would be 2.4%, which is down from the 3.795% I have now (refinanced that about a 1-1.5 years ago).

with you still having federal loans, I'd likely wait, too

Comment

so we're far away from this actually happening, but this was released by senate democrats:
        https://finance.yahoo.com/news/senat...164550986.html

And we just paid off our last student loans a month ago! Can I have the last $10k back? (of course not)

Realize it's been released by the minority party in the senate (so it's not likely the majority even lets it come to a vote), much less would trump sign it

Comment

Wait it out. I literally just refinanced with Earnest. I am outside of the cancellation window (I think it was five days after signing), but my loan is not completed in being set up with them. When I log in to my account, it says "It's happening !We're setting up your loan om our system." I called them today to ask them to cancel and they said it was impossible. I argued that I cannot access my loan since it is not completed, and the website states as such, but they would not budge. My timing is terrible.

Comment

much less would trump sign it[/QUOTE]

Trump's inner democrat is coming out.
            He did an exec order to halt student loans interest... I'm not sure why we're still labeling him as this staunch republican.