Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Management of a small windfall as an intern with significant student loans

Hi everyone,

First post here. I'm a first year anesthesia resident with about 363K in federal loans, 9k of that being interest, accruing at 6.4% making 0 dollar payments this year as part of REPAYE. At the end of this year, I'll be receiving about 30K tax free, and then about 12 months later will receive another 15K. I'm trying to figure out what the best move to do with this is. I've maxed my roth this year and have an emergency fund. Not planning to pursue PSLF. Loan repayment seems like the obvious choice, but not sure if its smarter to put it all into loans (vs investing it) as the initial 30k would only be 21K toward the principal after paying off interest, and on top of that would miss out on the approximately $950 interest subsidy I'm getting monthly as part of REPAYe this year. .

Thanks!

Did you do 2019 and 2020 Roth IRA?

Comment

I don't know anything about your student loan repayment program, but I would look at the situation in reverse. If I had $333K in loans, would I borrow an extra 30K to invest if I could have part of the interest subsidized? That is essentially what you are doing when you invest the money instead of paying down your loans. I agree with contributing to a roth, but beyond that, I would apply it to your loans. You aren't going to get a much better rate of return then a guaranteed after tax 6.4% rate in the market.

Comment

I like Dave Ramsey here. You already have step 1 with your emergency fund. Then Step 2 is Attack debt with everything you have. Therefore, I would put this into the loans.

Comment

Anesthesia makes $300-500k?

Those loans suck. They do. I know you hate them. In 10-20 years your problem is going to be what to do with all your money and you'll hate your tax bill far more than those loans.