Student Loans and the 2020 Election

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student Loans and the 2020 Election

Hi WCIs, quick student loan question. I'm a newly minted attending physician about 1.5 years into practice. Current income is ~180k/year with small chance of increases up to maybe 220/year over the next couple of years. I also have ~150k in student loan debt at an average interest rate of 6.57%. I know I need to refinance the loans to lower my interest rate, but I've been hesitating a bit with the upcoming election. With one party seeming to make some sort of loan forgiveness a common talking point, I'm wondering what y'all think about waiting until the election to go ahead and refinance them. My concern is that if I refinance them now, and some sort of forgiveness program does materialize, I won't be eligible for it since I refinanced to a private institution. On the other hand, it seems like quite a while to wait for what's probably a pretty low chance of loan forgiveness actually happening and I'll be accruing interest at this rate in the meantime. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

**Please stay away from the politics part of the discussion for all of our sanity - we just survived family Thanksgiving!**

refinance

Comment

I think the chances of loan forgiveness happening for you, even if the most staunch proponent of it is elected, is near zero. So I would refinance.

Comment

You should have done this a year and a half ago......hurry up already.

Comment

Originally posted by ARDSisbad View Post
          **Please stay away from the politics part of the discussion for all of our sanity - we just survived family Thanksgiving!**
          You should have done this during Thanksgiving. Get your rebate using the vendor list. Do it again later.

Comment

The chances of loan forgiveness is not near zero.