Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does your residency program offer retirement matching?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does your residency program offer retirement matching?

I'm a PGY1 resident and at my program the University does not offer any matching for retirement for residents. However, for ALL other employees of the hospital (nurses, PT, OT, attendings, staff, etc) they offer a 2:1 match.

I was wanting to speak with GME about this but I wanted to present data showing how many programs do and do not offer matching for residents. If you could just comment on what sort of matching your program offers, that would be great!

Also, is it legal for the university to exclude residents from the same retirement options that they offer to all other employees? I thought companies had to make retirement options available open to ALL of their employees and can not exclude anyone... Is this correct?

Thanks

My wife is PGY3 in a community based residency program. During the first year residents are not eligible for a retirement plan. Starting with the second year the program puts 3% of her salary in her 403b, no matter if she puts some money in it or not. So over period of 2 years they should put about $3K in it.

Comment

I’m a PGY1 resident and at my program the University does not offer any matching for retirement for residents. However, for ALL other employees of the hospital (nurses, PT, OT, attendings, staff, etc) they offer a 2:1 match.

I was wanting to speak with GME about this but I wanted to present data showing how many programs do and do not offer matching for residents. If you could just comment on what sort of matching your program offers, that would be great!