X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I open a SEP IRA?

Hey everyone so I graduated residency last year and afterwards I did some independent contractor work from Aug to Nov and made about 52k total. I rolled over my 403b from residency into my Roth IRA towards the end of 2019. I did a backdoor Roth IRA this year. I'm thinking of other avenues for me to save and I realized that it is too late for me to open up a solo 401k and a simple IRA for the 1099 work that I did last year. The only thing I can open up is a SEP IRA and I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble to open this up with the potential complications it can cause via the pro rata rule. I have a W2 job that I'm starting up next month with a 401k plan that I can contribute to. Just wanted to get some input from the WCI community. Thanks everyone.

Sorry meant for this to be posted in the retirement accounts forum. Was wondering if the mods can delete this thanks.

Comment

• Peds
      Peds commented
      Editing a comment
      Or just move it....

I would open the sep now and make a 2019 contribution - calculate carefully and make sure to aggregate with any 403b contributions - and concurrently I would open a solo 401k into which I would rollover the sep ira 2019 contribution. Open both at the same institution. E*TRADE preferred. Now you have a solo 401k in perpetuity. Do not make 2020 or future contributions to the sep ira.

Comment

Originally posted by jacoavlu View Post
      I would open the sep now and make a 2019 contribution - calculate carefully and make sure to aggregate with any 403b contributions - and concurrently I would open a solo 401k into which I would rollover the sep ira 2019 contribution. Open both at the same institution. E*TRADE preferred. Now you have a solo 401k in perpetuity. Do not make 2020 or future contributions to the sep ira.