Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

EmployEE contributinos required in Solo401k?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EmployEE contributinos required in Solo401k?

This is my first year where all of my income is 1099. I have a solo401k. Do I have to make employEE contributions, since the deadline is 12/31/19, or can I simply make employER contributions only, since the deadline is the tax-filing deadline?

You don’t have to make employee contributions.

you should have a deferral election form that you complete as employee that dictates the amount.

the employee deferral deadline is not 12/31 if you’re a sole prop.

It basically is 12/31 if you’re an S Corp because the deferral has to be withheld from payroll.

Comment

Originally posted by jacoavlu View Post
      You don’t have to make employee contributions.

you should have a deferral election form that you complete as employee that dictates the amount.

the employee deferral deadline is not 12/31 if you’re a sole prop.

It basically is 12/31 if you’re an S Corp because the deferral has to be withheld from payroll.
      Thanks. Yes, I'm a sole proprietor, and I have my Solo401k through E-trade. The contributions default to employer contributions, but if I contact them they'll change to employee contributions. I'm not aware of any deferral elective form that they provide.

I just wasn't sure if there was any con to only doing employer contributions, other than the fact that they can't be reversed if I over-contribute (or at least it's very difficult).

Comment

If your income is enough to reach the $56k limit with only employer contributions then it really doesn’t matter.

you can find template deferral election forms through google. You must complete one every year and keep it on file, since you are the plan administrator.

Comment