X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tail insurance limits

Thank you in advance for any help you all can provide.

I am a private practice orthopedic surgeon (see peds and adults) who has been in practice for just under 2 years. I have been employed by my group for the last 2 years, and was supposed to have a partnership vote coming up in September. However, due to practice circumstances, I have decided to leave the practice. I am joining a large academic health system.

My question is regarding tail insurance limits. My private practice job does not include tail coverage unless I get fired without cause or leave with cause. Since I am leaving without cause, I have to get my own tail. My new employed job will not include nose coverage. My private practice job malpractice insurance has $4M/$6M limits. The company who provides my malpractice can do a tail policy for the same limits with indefinite coverage for $30k (yearly premiums were about $14k). My question is, do I actually need $4M/$6M limits to my tail for some reason? I definitely want indefinite coverage. A malpractice broker told me most people do $1M/$3M limits, and that he would not be able to find a company to provide $4M/$6M limits (and that if I want that, I should just go with my current malpractice provider for the tail). Do the tail limits need to match the malpractice limits for some reason? What are the pros/cons of going with lower limits?

Not ortho but things you need to consider:
    -what state you practiced in
    - what are the statutes of limitations for a claim (since you handled peds) in your state?
    - what is the normal policy for orthos in that state (1 mil/3 mil)?
    - are there any bad outcomes that you had that you can think of?

That being said, for peace of mind 30 k is a very small price to pay. Even if new group wont pay nose, can they pay in another way (signing bonus)?

Comment