X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional corporation for group vs independent sole proprietors

I'm a rehab physician, in CA. I hopefully have a new partner coming to join my unit. It would be just me and him. Previously it was myself as an IC, as well as another doc who was directly employed by the hospital (which is an extremely unfavorable option financially). We didn't have anything in writing, but we covered each other's patients for call, vacation.

Currently I'm a sole proprietor-it's simpler, it's cheaper. CA taxes professional corporations 1.5%, and physicians cannot form an LLC. My pass through deduction is also maximized as a sole proprietor, and since all my income is from my billings or a stipend where I fill out a time card, I really cannot justify s-corp distributions all that much. Certainly not enough to make the hassle worth it.

The new physician joining me is asking about starting a group. I understand there's a professional/personal benefit to this-it's a bit more formal of an agreement to work together than us operating independently as sole proprietors and just covering vacation time for each other, sharing call, etc. And I guess we could get group health insurance and a group 401k. I'm not really sure those are beneficial, though I believe in CA ERISA protects group 401k but not i401k plans.

As far as I can tell:
    1) Liability doesn't change--we're always personally liable for medical mistakes. If we're independent sole proprietors, he cannot be sued for my mistakes, similar to how his assets wouldn't be at risk if we were a professional corporation (though the corporation's assets could be). Correct?
    2) Taxes are higher-1.5% s-corp taxes in CA. If I earn $300,000, that's $4,500.