Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What does Chapter 11 look like for a private practice?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does Chapter 11 look like for a private practice?

Why does it feel like I just threw out a hand grenade and am waiting for the countdown? [sorry for the title but it's all I could come up with that was succinct and to the point]

I'm a private practice physician in a state that has mandated a shelter in place order. While I realize that does not apply to physician practices, we have chosen to close our offices to minimize risk to our staff and patients.

We are looking at numerous options to make up for the significant loss in patient visits and revenue including furloughs for employees. However, we have not looked at declaring bankruptcy and seeking Chapter 11 protection.

I was hoping someone here may have insight into this specifically as it pertains to a medical private practice.

What does Chapter 11 look like?
    What happens with insurers, etc
    Besides the stigma, what are the pros and cons of pursuing this?
    What are the ramifications to the partners/owners in a C-corp, S-corp, or LLC?

Thanks!

Cut expenses to the bone, work out a payment plan with your landlord if you must, hunker down and then reopen to get the cash flowing again in 2 months. Are you that cash poor or that poor of a credit risk that you cannot take a loan to get through the next few months?

Comment

Do you have business interruption insurance? Go to skeletal staff.

Comment

Statistically, many of us will contract coronavirus and develop limited or no symptoms and many won't contract it. Make sure you are adequately assessing the health risk versus the impact of a business closure/bankruptcy.