X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting out: Advice on Next Steps

I'm a 38M coming up on first-year out as ER attending at octopod-like, far-reaching healthcare system in the Bay Area. Base salary is ~ $350k. Company offers qualified pension, contributions and pseudo-matched 401k at Fidelity. Non-academic institution with no PSLF or HSA options. (Yes, I had another career prior to medicine but I was an independent contractor and failed to save much. Water under the financial coulda-woulda-shoulda bridge. I also have too many advanced degrees -- but not one is in finance. Poor planning on my part.)

My starting financial position:
    ===================
    1. Had not heard of WCI during residency. Paid down car and high-interest CCs; did not save for retirement.
    2. Unmarried w/o kids. No mortgage. No car or boat loans.
    3. Student loans originally ~ $500k. Now $450k.

Actions taken this year:
    ===============
    1. Refinanced student loans: $300k with First Republic (2.2%), $100k with Sofi (4.125%) and kept the undergraduate loans with Navient (3.2%).
    2. Saved $25,000 for emergency fund and placed in Northpointe Bank savings plan (2%). Also parked another $25,000 there while waiting to figure out what to do with this extra money.
    3. Maxing out 401k to total of $55k (100% Fidelity Contra Fund, ER 0.38% vs Vanguard 0.32%). In order to hit this target this year (as I did not contribute to the $15,420 prior to June, I'm taking a hit on paycheck ~ $2570/month.
    4. Setup and funded back-door Roth IRA at Fidelity. Have yet to invest.
    5. Passed boards. (And that's what they call 'burying the lead'.)
    6. Joined WCI. Reading books and getting my learn on. Trying to be less of a financial noob.

Areas involving "next steps":
    ==================
    1. What investments should I pick for the Roth IRA? Since it is post-tax monies, I should be investing in equities, yes?