X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marriage and finances; many questions

Hi all, I am a PGY2 internal medicine resident. I am planning to propose to my girlfriend either at the end of this year or early next year. I have many questions regarding marriage finances that I am wondering if people here could help me with. I like to think that I am very savvy with personal finance but my girlfriend has never really dealt with this stuff before and is not so bright in terms of finance (as you will be able to tell from below). I will be pursuing a 3-year fellowship after my IM residency and do not plan to take any gap years as a hospitalist. My girlfriend, who is a RN currently, is applying to 3-year DNP programs this summer from 2021-2024. I will graduate fellowship the same year she graduates her DNP program. For reference, I am certain I will match at either my home institution or a nearby institution and she is certain our in-state DNP program will accept her.

Current financial information
    Me: (27 years old)
    - $175,000 student loans under REPAYE at 5.62% interest
    - enrolled in PSLF but I do not plan to pursue; I am staying in REPAYE/PSLF so I can take advantage of low payments during residency/fellowship and the subsidized interest rate under REPAYE
    - current income $70,000 but moonlighting gets it up to around $75,000
    - Roth IRA (current value): $56,000 all in index funds
    - Taxable account (current value): $13,000 all in index funds
    - Emergency savings: $5,000
    - HSA (current value): $2,000
    - 401k (current value, no employer match): $3,000
    - no credit card debt
    - car is fully paid off
    - rent+utilities/car insurance/internet is around $1600/month

Girlfriend: (24 years young)
    - no student debt
    - DNP tuition for 3 years will run total of $70,000 (she will take federal loans for this) pending she gets accepted to her in-state program