X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feedback for new practice owner

I'm closing on a dental practice in the next month, and finally need to decide what to do with my old simple IRA and cash I saved up for the purchase. I'm a 2018 grad with two small kids and a stay at home spouse, and so many questions!

Student loans: 194k, 4.9% fixed at 20 years
    Mortgage: 234k, 4% fixed for 30 years
    Practice: 200k, 3.65% for 15 years

Old 401k: 17k (Currently at principal with ok-ish investment options... Is this worth moving to schwab for simplicity's sake? Any penalties or something associated with moving a 401k to a new brokerage?)
    Roth IRAs: 23k (my spouse has invested his max for 2020 in a backdoor roth. I'm holding off because of the simple IRA I still have from my previous job)
    Simple IRA: 6k (from the job I just left... what can I do with this? I'd like to move it to whatever so I can continue using backdoor roth IRAs for myself going forward)
    I'm using a three-fund portfolio for all of the above.
    Cash: 55k, earning 2% on the first 20k at a local credit union

We spend about 80k a year, including all loan payments (except the practice loan) and including health 'insurance' (we're signed up for medishare at 300/month right now, vs 1300/mo for a PPO plan with a 4k deductible... thoughts?). I'm guessing the practice I'm purchasing will give me a profit of 130-150k the first year, and should grow to profit at least 200-250k within the next couple of years.

My current 'plan' is to park my excess cash (anything over 20k) in a taxable account, and then just wait out any other decisions until 2021. At that point, I'll have a better idea of what income I can expect from the practice, and I'll start a retirement plan + more aggressive saving/paying down debt then.

Questions I have:
    What to do with my excess cash?
    What to do with my old Simple IRA?