Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I begin my journey to retirement?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I begin my journey to retirement?

I just finished reading the White Coat investor book and am now interested in getting down to the nitty-gritty details.

I’d greatly appreciate any help. I am a complete newbie to investing and would like to know where to get started. I’ll give a little background info about myself.

-28 year old dentist
    -Living/working in Southern California. Family and friends are here and I am a minority working in a clinic that caters to fellow minorities. I enjoy this area (although it is expensive).
    -No student debt
    -Married with no kids. Wife is a stay-at-home at the moment. I am supporting her financially.
    -I make about 150k/year pre-tax
    -I am an employee at a private clinic that offers no 401k and no benefits.
    -I have about 90k in savings. None is invested.
    -I own no assets. Renting a 1br apartment in a nice area for 1.7k/month (this is cheaper than I’d be paying if I had a mortgage in this city).
    -after taxes, I earn about 8k monthly, which around half (or slightly more) goes into savings. Other half goes to rent/groceries/car payment/fun, etc... (is this considered OK?)

Now, as to the future and my goals, I am planning on becoming a practice owner soon (income will probably increase). I also am thinking about buying a house, but they are very expensive here. A 1 bedroom apartment can cost around 350k, which already breaks WCI 2x your income rule. On a 30 year mortgage, my monthly payment will still be a a couple of hundred bucks higher than what i’m currently paying for rent (1.7k). If I’m planning on staying in this area, I imagine it’s still worth it to go for the mortgage?