Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rejected by every credit card; students loans to blame?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rejected by every credit card; students loans to blame?

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum but have heard that it may be helpful with a problem I'm having.

I'm an R3 with substantial student loan debt. A little background - before residency, I had one credit card in college which i have since cancelled long ago. My credit history isn't great but my credit score is consistently in the high 600s/low 700s. I have no red flags on my credit report.

Since graduating medical school, I've applied for every tier of credit card imaginable (not all at once), including secured credit cards, and have been rejected seemingly due to my debt-to-income ratio. This has perplexed me because my rent isn't outrageous and my student loan payments are super low because I'm in residency.

I've always thought it to be due to my student loans, but wondered why my colleagues with student loan debt did not have this problem. Looking at my Experian credit report, it seems like they're counting my interest (negative amount) as credit used against my available credit (my principal) resulting in a 100%+ debt-to-credit ratio. I don't know if this is normal or a miscalculation but it doesn't seem right.

As of yet, no one I have consulted has been able to figure out what's going on. My friend has offered to placed me as an authorized user on her card so at least I'm building some credit while I figure this out. Any insights, recommendations or thoughts would be genuinely appreciated. Thanks so much!

It's probably primarily that you have little/no credit history. Student loans really never factored into my credit score and it was always high 700's in residency even with high student loan balances and never having owned a home.

You should go down to your bank and ask them for a secured credit card.