Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Somewhat overwhelmed by the amount of information

hello all,

I found the podcast first and then the block. I am waiting for my WCI book to arrive but I am just so excited and impatient. I do have a few questions.

I am very blessed to have wonderful family and I am currently an intern with no student loans, car, or mortgage debt. I am married with no kids and we are currently renting in a relatively high price area.

we make roughly 80K together before taxes. on our joint account we have saved 12K, 10 of which is currently in a CD at 1.75% maturing in 6 months. we save roughly $500 per month together.

I do have a 401K where my employer matches 3%, so I am contributing into that.

The one thing I guess we are saving for is a good down payment for a home after residency. however, I am taking the advice of Dr. Jim and will wait about an year in my attending job to buy, giving me roughly 5-6 years until I am ready to buy a home. Currently, is there a need to make my life more complex and get into starting a portfolio or should I just keep it as is until I am finished with residency and have attending income to play with?

You are on the right track.

1) 401k to match
    2) Roth - yours plus spousal (use some of your current savings to fund this year - before April)

Guessing that's all you'll be able to do for now. You're in a golden position without student loans as long as you don't do anything dumb.

Comment

Get that money out of the CD and contribute to the Roth for 2019 for you both. Then put the rest into emergency fund and Roth for 2020. Rinse and repeat for 2021. With the money you’ll have in your 401k and Roth IRAs by the time you leave training you’ll be ahead of the vast majority of the pack. Head down. Keep trucking.

Comment

I would put your emergency fund in a high yield savings account, so you have better access to it, after this CD matures.