X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Capital advice

So I had some free time and took the free consultation from PC. He had two main critiques about my portfolio.I was curious about your thoughts about his critiques:

1) I am 90% equities(new attending). 80% of which is large cap(VTSAX). He says I should be 1/3 large, 1/3med and 1/3small and he showed me some data how there is no pattern regarding which size cap index group does better year by year by being in 80% large cap I'm increasing my risk.

2). He thinks index funds are not good. He says he creates his own "index fund" to avoid any tax distributions and then he tax lost harvest individual stocks (lowes for home depot, Apple for Microsoft). He would have 120 stocks as "data" shows anything above 120-150 stocks is enough diversity(do not need thousands of stocks). This last thought I thought was a bit odd but I'm far from an expert.

And that's all he really offered me. They charge .8% AUM. I subsequently told him I was not interested but just curious about your opinions.

I think it would be really tough to overcome that .8% fee to long term beat your pre-existing strategy of VTSAX.  If you want it's very easy to tax loss harvest VTSAX into VTI.

I like simplicity and am willing to give up some return for simplicity/convenience.  I also am pretty mistrustful of many financial advisers (other than the one I pay hourly for a "check up" yearly around tax time)...so I pretty much do what you do for the most part - most of my taxable account in VTSAX and if the market takes a big dip I'll swap losing shares for VTI...rinse and repeat.

Comment

a few years ago i asked them very nicely if it were possible to use the app without getting the phone calls, and they said OK. I then changed the phone number on my account to a different number i don't use.

Comment

Different risk profile. You are overweighting this betting against in hope of larger return. So no.