Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Save for home down payment vs 401k contribution

Hi everyone,

I am a recent grad and just started my new job as an attending. I was working with a reputable financial advisor and based on my situation, he thinks I can forego putting money in my 401k my first few years and save cash for a housing downpayment (also coming up is a wedding). I did mention to him that I'd like to buy in the next 2-3years, but I don't know if I want to pay more taxes and lose time in the market given the importance of compounding interest. Do you think this is a horrible advice or is it reasonable? The following is my situation:

- No student loans, making about 380k combined w/ spouse. Projected to increase as I make partner

- Combined, we have about $150k saved in cash. Looking to purchase a home about 1.2-1.4million (due to location). Hoping to save up 20% for downpayment. so another 100-150k

- We don't have much in retirement accounts (we both have a roth ira but thats about it)

- If and once I become partner in 3 years: in addition to my 401k, I can start contributing to a keogh plan, which will allow me to contribute another 30k or so every year (or something like that, totalling to about 51k towards retirement for pretax contributions). In addition, though it is not guaranteed (i.e. bankruptcy), I have a pension plan.

- there is NO 401k match

It would be nice to buy in the next 2 years, but not at the cost of chipping away substantially at my retirement. Any advice? Thank you in advance!

Your financial advisor is an idiot. Unabashedly this is a bad idea.

Comment

What makes you call him 'reputable'? There's no reason you can't max your pre-tax accounts and save for a down payment. @Peds calling him just an idiot was actually being very kind on his part.

Comment

Why ty @cord.

Comment

He was listed in the WCI blog lol

Comment

He was listed in the WCI blog lol

Ouch.

Comment