Thoughts on a house

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts on a house

My wife and I are considering buying a home and would like some financial/life input.

About us: I'm in my second year of being an attending.  Wife stays home with two little ones.  I love my job and would like to be here for a long time (would love to have this be my only job, but I realize that it's relatively statistically unlikely).  We love the city where we live, specifically our neighborhood.  Although we are in a relatively low COL city, we live in a very affluent suburb.  It's the kind of place where you still see lemonade stands, kids leave their bikes on the front lawns unlocked and everyone knows everyone.  There are young families with kids everywhere.  We can walk to the elementary school, park, grocery store, library, fire station, etc.  I'm about 10 minutes from work and theres no traffic.  Women walk/run at night alone and feel safe.  I probably make slightly more than average for an academic physician in my specialty.  I really like my coworkers.  We have paid off all of my student loans and have no consumer debt.  We own two reliable cars - will probably upgrade the wife's car in the next couple year, but there's no rush.  We are currently saving a little over 20% of our gross income into tax preferred accounts plus a little over 10% employers contribution - this will probably go up during our next open enrollment as we plan on doing an HSA next year.