Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My house budget

Hi guys,

My wife and I are starting to look for a house in a HCOL area. I just wanted to get an idea of what my budget size should be to remain within reason. I am a 33 yo general dentist partner in a multi-dentist practice.

Salary:~ 300k
    Retirement: ~100k 401k/roth IRA for spouse and I
    Downpayment: 120k saved so far
    Debt: none
    No kids yet

Thanks!

by WCI recommendation; 300K x 2=600K but in HCOL you may not find something in that range so it may easily go up to 3-4 x of your salary

Comment

The WCI ROT is mortgage no more than 2x salary. So 600 + your down payment of 120 = 720k

Comment

Thanks, I was thinking of saving some more on my downpayment to 150k. I was looking to go somewhere between 700-800k.

Comment

Originally posted by Tennis64364 View Post
          Thanks, I was thinking of saving some more on my downpayment to 150k. I was looking to go somewhere between 700-800k.
          Seems reasonable, not FIRE ideal but not crazy. See if you can pick a house that will last you ten years, into parenthood and so on.

Comment

Whatever you decide tell your RE agent 100K less. Or better yet do not use an agent

Comment

I think general rules are a great starting point, but I think about debt on your home a little differently, especially given how low rates are today.

Cash flow is the biggest thing to focus on earlier in your career and not stretching it too thin based on your lifestyle, which a monthly mortgage payment is usually the biggest expense.