Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinance or invest

Hi,

I am not an expert in finances, so asking your advice in this. Planning to refinance :

current home value 350k in TX

Remaining months (152 months- almost 13 yrs)on current mortgage

Remaining balance 250k

Current rate is 3.625%

Should I refinance for 10 yrs at 2.625%
    Plan to stay in this home for next 8-10 yrs

Upside is that We will be done with the mortgage ( almost 3 yrs earlier than now) by the time my son starts college

down side is 323$ extra payment per month

what do you recommend? If you suggest to instead invest 300$ monthly somewhere, pls suggest where to invest. Thanks a lot ?

Anyone has any advice? Currently I am on 15 year term and have 13 years to go. Also, no closing costs for the 10 year option. Myself and wife are both in health care.

Comment

why would you go shorter term?

Comment

What are current rates on a 15 year?

Comment

Either is probably fine. For a delta of three years personally I would not bother. Invest the nominal funds you would otherwise be putting towards the mortgage. Think about it like this. Going from 3.6% to 2.6% is a 1% return. You should be able to do better in the market over the time period you suggest you are going to live in the house.

Why and where to invest? Well, since you mentioned college, a 529 is a good choice. If you have that covered, then invest in whatever asset allocation you have already established for the long term. Assuming you have fully funded your tax deferred (401K etc.) and backdoor Roths? Then go to taxable accounts. invest in some combination of Total stock market index, total international stock index, and total US bond market.

Comment

The best answer for you depends on your current excess cash flow and what you would do with the money if you do not spend it on the mortgage. Maybe you can provide some more details.

Comment