Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rent out my home while renting another?

I'm a newly graduated academic physician in an adult subspecialty, and I wanted to elicit feedback for my (likely crazy) idea. My spouse and I currently own a small home (with a yard, in a popular subdivision) in a SE city, and I am physician-scientist. Our current mortgage is a physician loan that is ~$1100 dollar a month mortgage, which we've owned for 3 years and have $70k equity. No other debts than my current student loans, which are less than $500 dollars a month in repayment. At the end of my current grant, I will have two years left of grant support (through summer 2023) basically that fund my position here. After that, we're not sure we're going to remain in our current location, though we would want to.

We are having another child and would benefit from a larger home (especially when both of us work from home and we have another child in "virtual school"). Homes like the one we own rent for around ~ 1800-1900 dollars/month, with larger homes that we would be looking to rent going for around ~2300-2500. It's a popular area.

Given that we are not convinced we would be staying much longer than 2.5-3 years, does it seem crazy to rent out our home at market value while also renting another, larger home to live in? Obviously there is the risk of a lease ending and not continuing, as well as the risk of being a landlord. Our total monthly housing cost would likely fall in this circumstance. I'm just not convinced it makes sense to buy another home, say next spring, if I only can guarantee 2 years. I just want to calibrate my thinking overall and see if it's a crazy idea.

Any feedback?

Why not just sell it and rent a bigger place? Unless you want to be a landlord.

If you are not planning on staying in the area, I wouldn't buy a new place.

Overall I don't think it's a crazy idea if you are meeting the rest of your financial goals.