Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cash Out Refi? Primary Residence / Net Worth

Sorry, another refi post, but this one is with a twist

My primary residence is my last debt, and I'm on track to pay it off in December this year. The home value is somewhere in the $400k range. I'm in my low 30s and my goal is to hit FI in the next 10 years. As my name suggests, I'm not a doc. I work in the energy industry where pay is high but job security is shaky. From a net worth perspective, my primary residence makes up just short of 50% of my net worth, and my marginal tax rate is 22%. Married, and regularly itemize on taxes.

Since the crisis, and the ensuing drop in mortgage rates, I've been contemplating pulling some equity out of my home via a cash out refi to invest in the market. Most blog posts I've found on this topic say this is a bad idea, but the examples they all provide are of hypothetical people that are still years away from knocking out their mortgage, not someone with 95% home equity.

Mind you, when I say invest in the market, what I mean is invest in a bond fund/preferred security or something of modest risk, such that I would borrow from my house at ~3% (~2.3% after deducting mortgage interest), collect on a bond at around 3-5% AFIT, and pocket the difference. In essence, I'd be diversifying my primary residence, adding a wedge of funds to get past the standard deduction threshold each year, and trying to earn a little extra by being more risk-on with the equity-turned-cash.

My questions are:
    - is this reasonable? Are the costs of doing a refi prohibitive to my goal?
    - For those of you with positive and growing net worths, what % of your NW is tied up in your primary residence?
    - Is there a target % of your NW that you want in your home by the time you hit FI

Thanks in advance for any comments/questions/discussion

so what bond fund is paying you 5% right now.....

Comment