X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New independent contractor, can't get mortgage

I wish someone had told me ahead of time that switching from W2 to 1099 would be a huge problem when it came to getting a mortgage. Moved from northeast to the south and from a W2 to 1099 with same company (i'm an ER physician). In the Northeast got a mortgage no problem as a W2, now in the south (making more money) can't get a mortgage because I haven't been a 1099 for at least a year (some places need 2 years). We are currently renting but have to be out of the rental by the end of the year, which is not enough time to get my first 1099 for the first year of work as an IC. Really don't want to keep renting as it would mean leaving this rental and going into another one, that's a lot with 3 kids. Any thoughts? recommendations?

did you talk to the physician mortgage ppl listed on this site for your state?

Comment

Spoke with some of them. Making my way down the list, but so far they are all saying the same thing. It just seems absurd to me that i've already had a mortgage and showed ability to pay, I am making more money now, working for the same company doing the same job as an ER physician. The only thing that's changed is that i'm now an independent contractor as opposed to W2. Insanity.

Comment

Originally posted by JRH_MD View Post