Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I teach residents about active investing?

Collapse
X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I teach residents about active investing?

I am putting together formal, recorded lectures to residents and medical students about personal finance.  I'm no neophyte on the subject - I have a Masters degree in Personal Financial Planning from the College for Financial Planner, and passed the CFP exam back in 2008.

All of my reading over all the years has exposed me to maybe 50 - 100 studies which seem to validate John Bogle's philosophy on passive investing, which I follow personally with a four-fund portfolio.  I pretty much stopped reading new papers because at this point I consider it "settled law."  I have read less than five legitimate studies (maybe?) showing active investing is worthwhile when deployed for and paid for by retail investors; i.e. true alpha is provided to the retail investors, not the fund managers or "financial planners" being paid for their services.

My question to the hive-mind is this:  given limited lecture time, to what extent should I discuss active investing as a legitimate approach for mutual funds?  Or do I simply say "doesn't work for retail investors" like I will for technical market analysis?

I ask because there is SO MUCH out there pushing active mutual funds, and even some nationally know planners still use active funds, particularly in a "hub-and-spoke" or "core-and-satellite" investing plan.  And until they become mature investors, people tend to believe in their active funds with almost religious fidelity (I also did once . . . looking at you, Bill Miller).  So I don't want to offend anyone and have them turn off for the rest of my talk, but I just wonder if anyone else has struggled with this, and how did you handle it?

Many thanks in advance!