Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portfolio Cleanup

Hi everyone,

I am a resident starting my 4th year of a 5 yr residency. My wife just graduated as a pediatrician and will start a new job making ~180k. We have -200k of student loan debt. I am just starting to learn about finances and trying to get things in order. We have contributed to a Roth IRA for both of us the last three years but had not utilized the residency sponsored 403b because there is no match. I have a taxable account started by my grandparents when I was a kid with ~50k in various indivual securities (MSFT, AAPL, GOOG etc). After reading the WCI books I was thinking about selling these individual stocks and eating the associated cap gains tax in order to invest in index funds. My question is should I reinvest the funds immediately into index funds in the taxable account or use them to act as salary/ spending money so that I can divert my actual salary into the 403b? If I should go with the 403b should I use the Roth option since we arent in our maximum tax bracket yet?

Additional considerations: Likely planning to buy a house in 2-3 years when residency is finished and need to save for down payment, so the additional liquidity of a taxable account might have some benefit.

Thanks in advance

no reason to pay taxes.
    donate, TLH, etc. would just not add new money.

save 20% to retirement. which is.......

Comment