X
Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Emergency Fund with open LOC

Hi all - newbie here, to both WCI and the world of personal finance. I'm a new PGY1 in Canada who is trying to learn all I can to get me set up on the right track for the future, and properly arrange my priorities.

I carry 2 different student loans - provincial/federal combination with a max interest rate of prime+1%, and an open professional student line of credit at prime-0.25%. I've been reading general personal finance things about the importance of an emergency fund, and completely understand why they're really important! But I'm wondering about the financial advisability of creating an emergency fund when I am still able to draw on my LOC (which, according to the bank, is at least until end of residency, and could be forever as it can be converted into a personal LOC).

On the one hand, the whole definition of an emergency fund is for any emergency that comes up, including any (hopefully very unlikely) scenarios that would prevent me from completing residency and potentially losing access to the LOC. On the other hand, I am a debt-averse person, and being able to put more money towards paying down debt of at least 2.20% versus having it earn a likely max of 1% in a HISA feels like a net gain. On the other other hand, having to go more in debt in case of an emergency seems like an odd move for a debt-averse person.

What do you all suggest? Any and all input is appreciated! I have tried reading to find if this has been discussed on here before but haven't come up with anything.

you split the difference. your efund could be 500, 1000, etc. doesnt have to be 6mo at the start.

Comment

The difference is EF is an asset and the LOC needs to be paid back.
      Try to pay emergency expenses out of assets EF. Build as you can.