Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Taxable account vs umatched roth403b

Hi all,
    I wanted to know your thoughts about investing in a taxable account vs an unmatched roth403b.
    I'm a 1st year resident (soon to be 2nd year) with no debt or student loans. I have maxed out my roth IRA for 2019 and 2020. I am currently also contributing 20% of my salary to an unmatched roth403b (won't be maxed out to the full 19K by the end of the year, maybe will reach about 10K total on current contributions). I have about 20K saved up in a HYSA. I'm debating opening up a taxable account and investing in an index fund vs increasing my contributions to the unmatched 403b. I'm a little hesitant to max out the 403b since its unmatched (and retirement seems far away). I am wondering I'm better off contributing to a taxable account for greater gains (plan to cash out in 6-10 years). How would I know what the capital gains tax rate would be if I plan to put in 10K now?
    Thank you for your help as always

Ideally, I would take advantage of that Roth space and put as much in Roth 403b as you feel comfortable doing while maintaining a semblance of an emergency fund. I would try to avoid withdrawing it in 6-10 years though (did you have a specific purchase in mind?). Presumably, within 6-10 years, you would be able to use a combination of cash flow and emergency fund for most expenses that cost ~20k as you will be an attending at that point. If it were me and I were in that situation, I would attempt to maximize the amount of money I was putting into a Roth 403b well before I put money into a taxable account (assuming reasonable low-cost index funds are available within the Roth 403b)

Comment

20% to retirement is a worthwhile goal for a resident.
      if you make 60K, then 6K rRIA, and 6K 403.

feel free to stop there and save for other goals after that.