Collapse
First Prev Next Last

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Financial Suggestions for Newly Married Medical Student

Hey everybody,

I have been a casual WCI podcast listener and forum lurker for about a year. I have some new changes to my financial situation so I was hoping to get some advice from the community. I am a 3rd year medical student who recently got married. My wife and I (in our young 20s) are in the process of combining our finances and it seemed like a good time to make any adjustments or start new habits that will lead us to a financially successful future. I believe we already have some goods habits in place. We do our best to balance saving for our future and enjoying the present. We both use mint.com to budget.

My finances: I currently have about 117K in student loans and 10k in savings split between a PNC checking account and ally savings account. For the past 3 years I have lived off of loans only and save a small portions each year for an emergency fund. Over the past 3 years, my living expenses has averaged 1572/month. I own my car (an early 2000s that is not aging gracefully), rent an apartment with my wife, and have no credit card debt. I have no other assets. I use PNC as my bank and I have credit cards through PNC and USAA.

My wife's finances: My wife has been working for 3 years after college and earns about 42k before taxes, has 27k in savings, 534 dollars in a roth 401k, 1.3k in an ellevest account, a 290 car payment (3 years of payments remaining). She has no credit card debt or student loan debt. She uses PNC as her bank and has a Discover credit card. She puts 3% of her monthly paycheck into her retirement account, ~700 dollars a month into a savings account, and ~1700/month for living expenses.